• The new Gov't Mule live albums are available now!
  • Get the new Joe Bonamassa album now!
  • The new Stray Cats album is out now - Click to buy
  • The new DeWolff live album is available now!
  • Out now! The new Supersonic Blues Machine live album
  • Pre-order the new Crobot album Motherbrain
  • Pre-order the new Robert Randolph album!
  • Click to buy the new Teramaze album!
  • Available now - The new Hollis Brown album!
  • The new George Benson album - Available now!
< >
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Walter Trout - New Album, Book & Documentary Announced << ALL NEWS 

“For five years, Walter, Provogue Records, and I have worked towards making Walter’s 25th year as a solo artist a special celebratory event. But the festivities will have to wait! Walter is urgently in need of a liver transplant. It has been heart-breaking for me to watch Walter struggle through these past many months, as we tried various treatment options provided by Walter’s doctors and liver specialists. One by one the treatments failed. Yet through it all, Walter’s courage and determination continually amazed me. Even as he became a shadow of his former self, after losing 100 pounds and much of his strength, he continued touring, writing, playing, singing, and recording. Music and playing for people offered Walter what it always has: It is therapy and a life-line for him when the blues comes callin’. Thus the theme of this album is colored by his confrontation with mortality combined with a deep, all-abiding desire to persevere, and a good dose of typical Walter’esque life-affirming defiance!”
Marie Trout/March 2014

“When Walter re-joined Provogue in 2008 we talked about a plan leading up to the 25th anniversary of his career as a solo artist which is this year, 2014. Besides a brand new album we also made a book and a documentary. Not only to make people aware of the 25th anniversary but also to have people realize just how good and how important an artist Walter is for the blues rock genre Worldwide. A phenomenal guitar player and an even greater person. Always speaking from the heart and always in for a good joke. The touring set up for 2014 was fantastic with shows at the prestigious North Sea Jazz festival and the Carre theater in Amsterdam amongst many other great ones. Instead of being out there on the road giving his usual all to his many fans night after night, Walter is fighting for his life and there is nothing to celebrate at this moment. This is so very very sad and we all are praying for Walter to come out on top. The album will be released June 2nd as planned as Walter definitely wants this one to be heard. In the meantime our hearts are with Walter and his family”
Ed van Zijl/Provogue Records

Pre-order The Blues Came Callin' here. 

From the first time Walter Trout as a tormented teenager heard the haunting guitar playing of Mike Bloomfield, he instinctually knew the blues was his calling.
2014 marks the year Walter Trout looks back at an almost 50-year commitment to playing and singing the blues. “The Blues Came Callin” will be released worldwide on Monday June 2. The album was recorded throughout 2013. The songs on the album reflect Walter’s thoughts about mortality and his renewed appreciation for being alive.

As he became physically weaker, he fought to continue touring, and found that playing for people was powerful medicine. Like the title of the new studio album, the blues definitely came callin’ for Walter. It kept him fighting, and in the process, it made him more determined than ever.
Walter is currently awaiting a liver transplant at UCLA Medical Center in Los Angeles.

“To play my music for people has become even more important to me. When I think about looking out into the crowds of people and connecting with everyone on a soul level, and sharing the experience of music with them, this is what keeps me fighting to get back: My family and my music is my lifeline. These days, it means more to me than ever before.”

The Blues Came Callin’ - The New Album – Release Date: 2 June Europe / 10 June USA
Recorded throughout 2013 and early 2014, the new album features 12 new songs of which 10 are originals. One is written by John Mayall for the occasion, one is a J.B. Lenoir cover. Walter searches his soul on this album and lays it bare allowing new appreciation for life. The blues comes full circle; both as a reflective statement about his life and career, and as an all-penetrating desire to get back on stage and do what he loves most.

The Official Biography
Walter’s official biography, co-written with British music journalist, Henry Yates, will be simultaneously released with the new album. Entitled Rescued From Reality - The Life and Times of Walter Trout, the book features previously untold stories, and is packed with rare photographs from Walter’s personal archive.
The book documents an initially blissful childhood, shattered by divorce, abuse, and violence. As the story unfolds, it leads us through Walter’s life of heartache, poverty, living on the street and being “the only white guy” struggling in famous blues bands in LA in the late 1970’s.
Walter reflects on his time in the 1980’s when nobody cared to hear the blues, to being “discovered” and having long-time gigs as a hard-playing and hard-drinking and drugging globetrotting sideman with Canned Heat and John Mayall. The book chronicles how Walter eventually became drug-free, broke out on his own and embarked on a solo career in 1989.

The Documentary
Currently in production and scheduled to be included in the Special Edition of the album, the exclusive documentary features Walter talking in depth about his life and music. Also featured in the documentary are many of the people who influenced Walter personally and professionally.

Click here to help Walter get a new liver via the fan organized fund raiser

Pre-order The Blues Came Callin' here. 

Posted on 26-03-2014 << ALL NEWS 

Select your region