• Visit the new MLG web store!
  • Pre-order the new Ayreon album now!
  • Pre-order the new Joe Bonamassa album now!
  • Pre-order The Human Condition!
  • Get the new Southern Rock band's debut EP
  • Click to buy the new Flying Colors live album!
  • Buy the new Stray Cats live album now!
  • Click to buy Ordinary Madness now!
  • Buy the new 10 Years album now!
  • Buy Dragged Under's debut album now!
  • Pre-order Weekend In London!
  • Buy the new Robby Krieger album now!
  • Buy the new Liquid Quartet Live album now!
< >
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

Counting Days


Having formed in London in 2014, Counting Days entwine a complex and ferocious blend of hardcore punk, thrash and British heavy metal which has already marked them out as one of the most exciting and talked about metalcore acts in Britain. Made up of former members of TRC, Heights, Rough Hands and Last Witness they harness the power of their previous bands and bring it to an exhilarating new level.

Their debut self-released EP ‘The War of the Wolf’ saw their undeniable hardcore pedigree shine though and was met with critical acclaim from the likes of Metal Hammer, Kerrang!, BBC Radio 1s Rock Show and along with a handful of live dates that channelled their uncompromising ferocity, it propelled them to the attention of the wider scene and the Mascot Label Group (Black Label Society, Volbeat, Gojira, Joe Bonamassa).

In May 2015 they entered Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden to record their debut album ‘Liberated Sounds’ with Fredrik Nordstrom who also produced metal titans At The Gates, Arch Enemy, In Flames, Opeth, Architects and Bring Me the Horizon. Talking about the producer they’ve always wanted to work with, guitarist Charlie Wilson says "It has been a dream to work with Fredrik Nordstrom at Fredman Studios for a very long time. He has recorded some of my favourite classic and modern metal albums over the last 20 years.”

Talking about the progress of Counting Days, Charlie is very open about how their past bands’ have helped them in the right direction; “Our collective experiences help us go from zero to hundred pretty quickly because we know what we’re doing, we know the procedures and the protocols”. Continuing he adds “We know what we want, we just want people to enjoy it, it’s not that we’re a band that have got nothing to say, we’re not trying to make up any old shit – we want to make music for everyone to enjoy, but have depth to it.”

The records’ subject matter hits on a number of recurring themes; mortality, relationships and religion all return throughout. Elaborating on the lyrical content Thomas reveals; “This wasn’t a conscious effort, they are just things that really struck a chord. Even the title, Liberated Sounds, was inspired by the feeling we all got from writing it, five mates writing music without restrictions or judgement.”

Unafraid to tackle difficult and distressing subjects ‘Die Alone’ is about facing your own mortality and realising the certainty of death. Thomas continues to delve into the belly of the subject matter stating, “It questions the privilege with which some people are able to live their lives in the face of the basic fact that one day we will all go out the same way.” He follows on describing the roots of ‘Burned by Faith’ which isn’t an anti-religious song, but more to do with what some people do in the name of religion; extremism battling against the overwhelming desire for peace as well as questioning the path extremists would have taken if there was no afterlife. Continuing to burrow into human emotions ‘Fire From The Sky’ is about the mental effects of war, “I had been studying the treatment of soldiers with shellshock and the lack of understanding in the First World War” he adds before elaborating, “I wanted to highlight the damaging consequences beyond the physical injuries suffered during war.”

In ‘Liberated Sounds’, Counting Days are to unleash one of the most formidable records of the year that will twist, turn and refuse to leave your consciousness.

Liberated Sounds will be released on Mascot Records/Mascot Label Group on 16th October 2015.

Select your region