• Click to pre-order the new Beth Hart album!
  • The new Gov't Mule live albums are available now!
  • Get the new Joe Bonamassa album now!
  • The new Stray Cats album is out now - Click to buy
  • Pre-order the new Crobot album Motherbrain
  • Pre-order the new Robert Randolph album!
  • The new DeWolff live album is available now!
  • Out now! The new Supersonic Blues Machine live album
  • Click to buy the new Teramaze album!
  • Available now - The new Hollis Brown album!
  • The new George Benson album - Available now!
< >
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Joe Bonamassa


Two-time GRAMMY-nominated blues-rock titan Joe Bonamassa returns with a brand new studio album, ‘Redemption’, which will be released on 21st September 2018 via Provogue/Mascot Label Group in Europe and J&R Adventures in North America.

‘Redemption’ is his 13th solo studio album and third in a row of all original material and sees him at his most ambitious and diverse yet as he continues to redefine and push the barriers of blues-rock. It features a collection of 12 exhilarating songs that reflect the re-birth that he is currently going through. “I’m going through some other stuff in my life I didn’t expect to be going through. It’s a rising, it’s contrition, it’s acceptance, it’s everything. It’s painful, but knowing that there’s a rising coming,” he explains.

The album reunites Bonamassa with some of Nashville’s finest music minds such as Tom Hambridge, James House, Gary Nicholson as well as Richard Page, Dion Dimucci and continues his long creative relationship with Kevin Shirley. “From my producer’s perspective, this is far and away the most challenging and diverse album that Joe has ever made, “ says Shirley.

The album was recorded  at various locations including, Blackbird Studios, Nashville TN, The Cave Australia, Sydney OZ, Studio At The Palms, Las Vegas NV, Criteria Hit Factory, Miami FL and Addiction Sound Studios, Nashville TN. It was once again recorded with a remarkable collection of musicians including; drummer Anton Fig, bassist Michael Rhodes, keyboardist Reese Wynans, horn players Lee Thornburg and Paulie Cerra, harmony vocalist Gary Pinto, background singers Mahalia Barnes, Jade McRae, Juanita Tippins and Kevin Shirley introduced two extra guitar players, Kenny Greenberg and Doug Lancio. “It was interesting, because having two extra guitar players involved, allowed me to play a certain way,” Bonamassa adds.

There is a theme of redemption, salvation but also a sense of strength and empowerment running through the record and this is encapsulated perfectly on the title track as the gentle opening lines lays itself open, broken and bare, ‘She took the fire as she was leaving, no forgiveness and no confession, now I'm sifting through the cold grey ashes, looking for peace and my redemption.”

“It’s this yearning to redeem yourself after just this tremendous loss and this tremendous feeling of pain,” explains Bonamassa.

Talking about the new album he elaborates further, “I really feel the new material is deeper, lyrically and musically! We try to get a little deeper every time we come out and I think the song ‘Self-Inflicted Wounds’ is one of the best songs I’ve written since I started doing solo records.”

The song journeys through anger, frustration, but with the offer of forgiveness as it declares “You got a lot of nerve blaming someone else, for your mistakes, you got a lot of nerve offerin' up your help, when you can't carry your weightYou never get away with trying to tell yourself, one of your own lies, you never get away holding back those tears, try not to cry.”

“It has a real meaning,” he adds. “It’s fired by a real events and, again, it’s coming full circle at the moment.” Shirley continues, “It is a brand new look at the Blues, in what is clearly Joe’s deepest and darkest most personal modern Blues song, which is a masterpiece of desperation - melodic and cinematic in this presentation. I think it’s Blues totally reinvented.”

On Bonamassa’s third album in a row of all original songs, you see the real shades of light and dark, for every trip into the tender depths of emotion there are some glorious hip shaking moments of joy and all the while accompanied by supreme musicianship and Bonamassa’s masterful and rich guitar playing. “I think this record could have some of the best writing I’ve ever done along with James House, he’s a national treasure that guy, Tom Hambridge, the same thing, Gary Nicholson, Gordon Kennedy and Danny Flowers,” Joe explains. “I’m really excited for people to hear it and it's not the same thing that I’ve done. Its different, good different, not just different for the sake of being different.”

Bonamassa is on fire right now ‘Redemption’ sees him at his creative peak up to this moment and follows on from 2016s outstanding ‘Blues of Desperation’ which reached #3 in the Official UK Album charts, top 10 across Europe and #12 in the Billboard Charts. In the two years since his last studio album he has continued his formidable touring schedule, playing sold out shows across the globe and also his unfaltering excellence in other projects such as 2017s reformation and new release ‘BCCIV’ from supergroup Black Country Communion (with Glenn Hughes, Jason Bonham and Derek Sherinian) reaching their highest UK charting position to date at #7, his collaboration ‘Black Coffee’ with Beth Hart as well as the incredible live albums ‘Live at the Greek Theatre’ (2016), ‘Live at Carnegie Hall: An Acoustic Evening’ (2017) and the ‘British Blues Explosion’ (2017).

With unrivalled guitar prowess he is a once in a lifetime artist that has an insatiable desire to push himself on every level, “for as long as I’ve been doing it, it’s still fun and it’s still exciting and it’s still fun to figure out uncharted waters,” he says.

Select your region