01011001 - Live Beneath The Waves

€ 44.99
If you order this item together with items that are already available, we will hold your order and ship all items together. We recommend that you place a separate order if you wish to receive the released items sooner.
Artist: Ayreon
Format: Vinyl
Cat.nr.: MTR77291
Barcode: 8712725747727
Release Date: 2024-05-17
Ayreon Presents 01011001 - Live Beneath The Waves
Out now!

Purchase from the Mascot webstore includes album download, to be sent when your order is shipped.

An Ayreon live event is not just any concert. It’s a monumental occasion where the highest-calibre musicians and an enormous production come together to forge a bombastic spectacle. The rarity of these shows only adds to their uniqueness.

In September 2023, Arjen Lucassen's 01011001 - Live Beneath the Waves sold out five performances at Poppodium 013 in Tilburg, The Netherlands. This live production, based on the critically acclaimed 2008 concept album 01011001, was performed in its entirety, followed by a number of encore songs. The stage came alive with an imposing backdrop, LED screens showcasing fantastic visuals, lasers, pyrotechnics, special effects, and a unique live surround sound experience – a setup that would be at home on Broadway or London's West End.

Ayreon mastermind Arjen Lucassen, alongside keyboardist Joost van den Broek, assembled a remarkable lineup, featuring many original cast members from the 01011001 album and various special guests such as Simone Simons (Epica), Damian Wilson (Threshold), Anneke van Giersbergen, Jonas Renkse (Katatonia), Tom Englund (Evergrey), Daniel Gildenlow (Pain of Salvation), Marcela Bovio (MaYan), Brittney Slayes (Unleash the Archers), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), John Jaycee Cuijpers (Praying Mantis), Maggy Luyten (Beautiful Sin), Michael Mills (Toehider) and Wudstik, among other incredible musicians.

The band featured top instrumentalists from the genre - Ed Warby (Drums), Johan van Stratum (Bass), Timo Somers (Guitar), Marcel Coenen (Guitar), Joost Van Den Broek (Keyboards) and more. The enigmatic Lucassen himself made an appearance, marking this as the largest cast in Ayreon's live show history, which is no mean feat. 01011001 - Live Beneath the Waves vividly brings to life the water planet Y, immersing audiences in this technological underwater world.

Arjen says about the show: "01011001 is one of my favourite Ayreon albums, and putting this show together was really exciting and rewarding. When I first approached the cast and crew via email, messaging, etc., within minutes I got back the most heartwarming and enthusiastic reactions. Everyone was excited about helping me bring the album to life.." Head producer Joost van den Broek adds, "This live production raised the bar even higher for us in all aspects and made the most impressive and epic show yet. The album 01011001 has a very specific sound and feeling that we had to translate to the stage as well as possible and as grandiose as possible."

A1. Age of Shadows
A2. Comatose
A3. Liquid Eternity
B1. Connect the Dots
B2. Beneath the Waves
B3. Newborn Race
C1. Ride the Comet
C2. Web of Lies
C3. The Fifth Extinction
D1. Waking Dreams
D2. The Truth is In Here
D3. Unnatural Selection
E1. River of Time
E2. E=MC2
E3. The Sixth Extinction
F1. This Human Equation
F2. Fate of Man
F3. The Day That The World Breaks Down