€ 10.00
If you order this item together with a pre-order item, we will hold your order and ship all items together. We recommend that you place a separate order if you wish to receive the released items sooner.
Artist: Jonny Lang
Format: Vinyl PRD75211
Barcode: 819873014799
Release Date: 2017-08-25
Johny Lang - Signs
Out on August 25 on CD and Vinyl.

It is hard to believe that at 36 years old Jonny Lang has already had a successful career for two decades. Easier to believe when you learn he released his first platinum record at 15—an age when many young people are just beginning to play music.

What began as a bluesy sound, influenced by electric pioneers like Albert Collins, B. B. King, and Buddy Guy, evolved over those recordings into a modern R&B style closer to Stevie Wonder and contemporary gospel music. Lang’s distinctive, blues-inflected licks appeared on every album, but became one element in a sea of passionately sung and tightly arranged songs.

So getting back to basics, Signs is not merely a return to the artist’s guitar-based beginnings, but an embodiment of an even more elemental sound. Beyond focusing attention on his soloing prowess, it is about recapturing the spirit of the early blues.

“A lot of my earlier influences have been coming to the surface, like Robert Johnson, and Howlin’ Wolf,” Lang reports. “I have been appreciating how raw and unrefined that stuff is. I had an itch to emulate some of that and I think it shows in the songs on Signs.

A1. Make It Move
A2. Snakes
A3. Last Man Standing
A4. Signs
A5. What You're Made Of
A6. Bitter End
B1. Stronger Together
B2. Into The Light
B3. Bring Me Back Home
B4. Wisdom
B5. Singing Songs

Album download delivered with vinyl purchase from this store.